Chawla\ Black Eyed Beans Gravy

A Simple Curry to kick-start this month…….I had planned to prepare something for the Indian Cuisine Series I have started but things have been a bit busy here so maybe the next post will be linked to that. The Last some days i have thought a lot about the reason for me to start blogging, I have been following many food blogs from quiet some time, and always wanted to have a food blog of mine and finally do have one but after posting some recipes I was struck,I had to stop myself and think about it, like I wanted my blog to reflect me and it does in a sense but i wanted more from it. Sometimes I am a very lazy cook and hate the thought of entering the kitchen and cooking something……so the blog was a challenge for me to enter the kitchen to stir up new recipes and share it with you all. The Idea behind the Indian Cuisine Series was that, I wanted to push myself to try up new recipes which I have never heard of or have prepared it in my kitchen. Hope that I do succeed in that.

Lets go to the recipe i am sharing with u all 2day, at home we call it as chawla ki subzi, it is also called as black-eyed beams or Lobia.

Chawla\ Black Eyed Peas Gravy

Ingredients

Chawla\Black Eyed Beans 1cup

Oil 2 tbsp

Jeera 1tsp

Hing a pinch

Onion 1 finely Chopped

Haldi 1/4 tsp

R.Chilli Powder 1 Tbsp

Dhaniya Jeera Powder 1tsp

Salt To taste

To make a paste

Tomatoes 2 Big ones

2 Cloves Garlic

Fresh Grated Coconut 2tbsp( Even 2 Tbsp of malai will do)

Kitchen King Masala 1 tsp

A fer sprigs of Coriander leaves

Method

1.Soak Chawla overnight or if  in a hurry soak it in hot water for an hour.(I Usually forget to soak them at night so hot water is my trick)

2. Heat Oil In a pressure cooker, add Jeera, hing and then add chopped onions,  saute them till they turn a bit light brown in color.

3.Now add Haldi, R.chilli and dhaniya Jeera powder, add saute for some seconds on a low flame.

4. Add the Tomato Paste and cook nicely till the oil separates.

5. Add the soaked Chawla, salt and mix it nicely.

6. Add about 2 cups of water and pressure cook for 4 whistles.

7. When the cooker has cooled down check the consistency of the gravy,It should be semi thick and garnish with coriander leaves and kasuri methi.

Serve Hot with Roti\Rice\Bread(My personal choice)

Note.

Add the masalas depending upon the spice level u prefer.

Instead of coconut u can also add 2 tbsp of malai for the creaminess.

I do it in the cooker as it is quick way of doing it and I also feel when done like this the Chawla absorbs all the flavor of the masalas.

Happy Cooking to u all!!

3 thoughts on “Chawla\ Black Eyed Beans Gravy

  1. The picture is beautiful and so is the dish. My daughter’s fave. I make it similarly but without coconut and kk masala. Your blog has come together very well, Pinky!! Lovely!

  2. Good luck on finding your voice as a blogger. Only advice, be personal, tell about the people you feed, the people who fed you, why you like and what you would change. Any book can give a recipe… Bloggers tell the stories behind a recipe.

    And Indian food is perfect to tell a little history about. Speaking as an ugly American, I know the ingredients, but I have no idea of the history, how the spices came to be associated with India, etc.

    And I like this photo alot. It is a difficult subject to make good to begin with (anyone can make a chicken glow, a pot of mostly liquid is really hard. I think you did terrific with the antique look pot and the bread on the side.

    Possibly put a white tablecloth on the table and something in the background (plants, onions, something fresh, something dried). But then you risk cluttering up your simple elegant photo. I usually shoot at least two different angles, backgrounds… sometimes more. I once spent 2 hours shooting a chocolate chip cookie.

    I hope you don’t get tired of blogging, Indian food is up and coming in the states. you could get very popular.

    Good luck, will keep am eye on ya.

Leave a Reply

